Skip to content

Snow College News-State Board of Regents Appoints Interim President of Snow College

State Board of Regents Appoints Interim President of Snow College

(December 5, 2013)

SALT LAKE CITY – At a meeting held today in Salt Lake City the Executive Committee of the Board of Regents, acting on behalf of the full board, appointed Dr. Gary L. Carlston as the Interim President of Snow College, effective January 8, 2014. Dr. Carlston will take the place of outgoing Snow president Scott Wyatt, who has accepted a position as president of Southern Utah University. Dr. Carslton, who currently works in the Center for Improvement of Teacher Education at Brigham Young University, will serve for a year or more until a new president takes office.

“The Board and the Snow College community are fortunate that Gary Carlston is willing to step into the role of interim president,” said Board of Regents Chair, Bonnie Jean Beesley. “Dr. Carlston’s academic expertise, integrity, and management capabilities will provide a steady hand during the transition on campus.”

Originally from Fairview in Sanpete County, Dr. Carlston graduated from Snow College with an associate degree, and from Utah State University with bachelors and masters of education degrees.  He earned a doctorate in Educational Administration at Brigham Young University.  In addition to his current role at BYU, Carlston has been a junior high school teacher, a school principal, district curriculum director, and was superintendent of the Logan City School District.  Carlston was a tenured faculty member at Utah State University, associate dean in the College of Education, and interim department head of secondary education at USU.  He has also been deputy state superintendent and served as Governor Mike Leavitt’s Deputy for Education. Dr. Carlston served for twelve years on the Snow College Institutional Council/Board of Trustees and was its chair for ten years.  He currently serves as an education policy advisor for Prosperity 2020.

In other business, the Executive Committee approved a ground lease between the University of Utah and the Huntsman Cancer Foundation to enable construction of Phase IV of the Huntsman Cancer Institute’s research and treatment facilities.

The Utah System of Higher Educationis comprised of eight public colleges and universities governed by the State Board of Regents, assisted by local Boards of Trustees.  The System includes research universities, regional universities, and community colleges.  The eight USHE institutions are: the University of Utah, Utah State University, Weber State University, Southern Utah University, Snow College, Dixie State University, Utah Valley University, and Salt Lake Community College. For more information on the Utah System of Higher Education, visit our website at

Interim President Dr. Gary L. Carlston