Proposed Division of the Social Science Department

The New Social Science Department:

History: Nathan Caplin, Mike Brenchley, David Graham, Michael Seibt

Economics: Kerry Hansen, Nathan Caplin

Political Science: Brad Young, Kerry Hansen

Geography: Open position

Total—6 faculty members, 7 when Geography is replaced

The New Behavioral Science Department:

Anthropology: Mike Brenchley

Psychology: Nick Marsing, Dana Erskine

Sociology: Mike Brenchley

Social Work: Dennis Schugk

Criminal Justice: Dennis Schugk

Total—4 faculty members

Richard Squire will be moved to HFST to be with Danni Larsen. A department name change for HFST is probably needed to reflect the education program component.

Rationale: The programs are not growing because the current department is spread too broadly across a large number of disciplines. These two new departments will allow programs to focus more on a vision of growth.

This will make 4 departments in the Social Science Division:

Education and Home and Family Sciences Department of Social Science Department of Behavioral Science Physical Education